• ResourcesArrow
  • Professional DevelopmentArrow
  • MembershipArrow
  • Awards & ContestsArrow
  • RegionsArrow
  • CareersArrow
  • Search


    Sustainability Awards

    Congratulations to the 2016 medal winners!

    Outreach and Education
    Gold – Brown University Dining Services
    Silver – University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
    Bronze – Virginia Tech

    Waste Management
    Gold – Princeton University (Grand Prize)
    Silver – Colorado State University
    Bronze – Johnson County Community College

    Procurement Practices
    Gold – Harvard University Dining Services
    Silver – University of Massachusetts Amherst
    Bronze – University of Massachusetts Dartmouth

    Green Champion Student
    Sarah Leann Ross, Colorado State University

    The NACUFS Sustainability Awards annually recognize and honor member institutions that have demonstrated outstanding leadership in the promotion and implementation of environmental sustainability, specifically as it relates to campus dining operations. The NACUFS Sustainability Awards support the globally accepted triple bottom line philosophy, a method of evaluating operational performance by measuring financial success as well as environmental sustainability and social responsibility—also known as “people, planet, profit.”

    With the creation of these unique awards, NACUFS leads the foodservice industry in recognizing the pivotal role that dining services play in the overall sustainability goals of a campus and the daunting challenge that the dining services staff face in satisfying customers and generating revenue while simultaneously minimizing environmental impact.

    The annual awards contest will recognize excellence in sustainable campus dining with a gold, silver, and bronze award in each of five operational categories:

    An overall grand prize winner will be selected from among the gold category winners.

    The contest will also include a Green Champion Student Award, recognizing one enrolled student from a NACUFS member institution who has demonstrated leadership in the promotion and implementation of sustainable dining on his or her campus. The Green Champion Student Award will include a $1,000 cash prize.